(Last Updated On: 六月 17, 2019)

管理基金?管理陷阱!

“管理基金的资金管理者故意操纵数字并欺骗投资者。他们正在出售基金构成的基金 – 这实在令人难以置信,在成本层面堆积如山。但是,如果他们善于营销,他们不需要擅长其他任何事情。可怜的大众投资者们最终得到的是一个可怕的产品。” 巴菲特

管理基金也被称为联合投资基金,托管投资,资本信讬,以及共同基金,它们由银行财富经理,理财顾问和股票经纪人销售。

管理基金对于投资者来说的不利因素主要有以下几点:

1. 高额费用

此类基金含有名目繁多的不透明收费项目,包括开户和退出费,管理费,业绩费,买卖差额费,交易费,手续费,信讬费,监管费,平台费和母基金费等等。

投资者需要注意的是,他们除了支付给财富经理和理财顾问的服务费之后,还被额外收取了隐含费用。

您的费用总额可以在您毫不知情的情况下,就很轻松的被叠加到每年3%以上。

所有的投资收入,甚至更多,都可能被用于支付管理费用。这个行业由于不透明而绕过了这个问题。每个月的管理费是自动扣除的,数额却隐藏在单价中。市场与单价随着时间的推移而上升,所以投资者并不知道扣除的费用。

2. 稅务损失

管理基金对投资者来说,是隐含重大稅务问题的。新投资者继承了基金内所包含股票尚未实现的资本收益,在股票出售时就要缴纳这些资本利得相对应的稅收!此外,新投资者稀释了未实现的资本亏损,损害了现有基金单位持有人的利益。资本亏损不能分配给持有人来抵消基金以外的收益。

3. 缺乏透明度

管理基金缺乏透明度,这是因为它的资本,收入和费用都混合成单一的数据,即单元价格。理论上讲,您被蒙在鼓里,根本无法为投资制定预算。而如果您投资在直接持有的股票组合上,您就能準确瞭解自己手中所掌握股息和资本的价值,也就能有针对性地做好预算。您会很清楚除了本金的价值以外, 您的额外收益会有多少。

4. 缺乏安全性

在投资股票或房产的时候,保证绝对安全性的方法,自然是将它们的所有权直接登记在您自己的名下。

而对于管理基金来讲,您虽然拥有相应单位基金的所有权,却并没有获得其中所包含的实实在在的资产。在过去曾发生过基金管理诈骗令投资者损失惨重的案例。

5. 效率低下

管理基金必须保证相当一部分的现金储备以应对客户赎回资金。而新客户的资金也需要时间来投放到管理基金中。将资产的一部分以现金形式持有,就意味着资金参与不足,与投资股票相比则失去了将所有资金物尽其用的机会。这也是造成管理基金的表现不尽人意的另一个原因。

6. 灵活性差

投资管理基金的客户们会发现,当决定将资金取回时,自己的投资往往是被锁定的,因此他们必须赎回自己的投资并且支付资本收益稅。而对客户直接持有的股票投资组合来说则没有此限制。

而其他出现过的问题,包括将资本作为收入来支付给投资者,以及过分收取佣金作为基金经理的调研铺贴。

7. 低于市场表现

金融业界被大家隐藏的最好的秘密之一,就是整体而言,管理基金的表现是低于整个市场的。其原因在于,多数活跃型的管理基金经理们由于担心自己的表现落后于股市以至於导致投资客户们撤回资金,从而遵循与股市同步的事实指数投资策略。资金规模,林林总总的费用,高昂的交易成本以及现金储备要求,也进一步拉低了基金表现。

“您常常会遇到推崇管理基金的理财顾问,而这些所谓的专家其实是指数投资者,而选择相信他们您就很有可能被耍了。他们讲资金的85%用于投资大盘指数,毫无作为却坐收高额费用。”巴菲特

令人惊讶的是,投资者是否拥有100万美元或1亿美元以上并不重要,我们发现很多高端人士也会投资于管理基金。

根据您的个人要求,以您的名义定制和管理并直接拥有的股票组合是投资股票的最有效,最透明,最安全且成本最低的方式。

最新的知识


钱要花的值

钱要花的值 购买股票时,我们真正要考虑的问题是,我所买入的股票价值...

管理基金?管理陷阱!

管理基金?管理陷阱! “管理基金的资金管理者故意操纵数字并欺骗投资者...

投资的真相与偏见

投资的真相与偏见 “与创造高经济回报相比,大部分投资顾问更擅长制造...

(Last Updated On: October 9, 2018)

Managed Fund Pitfalls

“Money managers purposely work at manipulating numbers and deceiving investors. They’re selling the fund of fund stuff – it’s really unbelievable, piling on the layers of costs. But if they are good at marketing they don’t need to be good at anything else. The poor guy in the general public is getting a terrible product.”  Warren Buffett

Managed funds are also known as managed investments, managed products, in-house funds, pooled investments, equity trusts, mutual funds. They are sold by bank wealth advisors, financial planners and stockbrokers.

Managed funds have numerous pitfalls:

  1. High opaque fees    

There are numerous fees, many opaque, which can include entry-exit fees, management fees, performance fees, buy-sell spreads, transaction costs, administration fees, trustee fees, custodian fees, platform fees, and fund-of-fund fees.

Investors need to be aware that they are paying these underlying managed product fees, in addition to wealth advisor and financial planner fees..

You can easily be paying upwards of 3% or more per annum in total fees, and not know it!

All the investment income, and more, can go in paying fees. The industry circumvents this problem by not being transparent. Fees, income and capital are commingled into a single figure, the unit price. Monthly fees are deducted, but are hidden within the unit price. Markets and the unit price rise over time, so the investor is not aware of the fee deductions.

  1. Underperform

Because of high fees managed funds, in aggregate, underperform the market.

“You often get investors [managed funds] who are really closet indexers, in which case you are being played for a sucker. These guys have 85 per cent of their assets linked to the index and they charge big fees.”  Warren Buffett

  1. Tax disadvantages

There are serious tax issues. New investors inherit the fund’s unrealised capital gains on the stocks it owns, and will be required to pay tax on these gains when the stocks are sold! New investors dilute unrealised capital losses, which disadvantages existing unitholders. Capital losses cannot be distributed to unit holders to offset against personal capital gains outside the fund.

  1. Not transparent

Managed funds lack transparency because capital, income and fees are commingled into a single figure, the unit price.

The “investment earnings” managed funds report are not just the income earned, but the combined income and capital growth.

You are literally in the dark and budgeting is impossible. With a directly owned stock portfolio you know separately what your dividend income and capital values are, and can budget accordingly. Similarly if you own an investment property you know exactly what its income is, which is separate to the property’s value.

Transparency is particularly important because, while market price fluctuations are inevitable, the dividend income paid by stocks generally stays stable and increases over time. You can live comfortably with price fluctuations if you know your dividend income is not affected. But this is not possible with managed funds.

  1. Not secure

The best absolute and ultimate security is always to have the title of the stock, or property, registered directly in your own name.

With managed funds you own units in the fund, but not the actual underlying investments. Incidence of fund manager fraud have cost investors dearly in the past.

  1. Not efficient

Managed funds must maintain cash reserves to cover redemptions. New money contributed to a managed fund can also take time to invest. Holding part of the fund’s assets in cash means the fund is always under-invested, missing out on the full potential of owning stocks. This is another factor contributing to under-performance.

  1. Not portable

You can become locked-in to a managed fund because, if you decide to take your money elsewhere, you are forced to redeem your investment and pay any capital gains taxes. No such limitation applies to a directly owned portfolio of stocks.

There can be other problems as well such as income being paid from capital, and excessive brokerage charges subsidising fund manager research.

Amazingly, it doesn’t matter if investors have $1 million or $100 million plus, we find sophisticated people invested in managed funds.

How managed funds are sold is discussed at Investment advice, fees and bias.

 

Latest Knowledge


Where to invest for income

Where to invest for income Bank interest rates range from around 1.25% for "at call" bank deposits,...

Three vital questions to ask before buying a stock

Three vital “high conviction” questions to ask before buying a stock There are three "high ...

Managed Fund Pitfalls

Managed Fund Pitfalls “Money managers purposely work at manipulating numbers and deceiving invest...